Planned Parenthood Lab Testing Data Breach Settlement: Up to $1,000 With No Proof, Plus Up to $5,000 Documented
PublishedSeptember 14, 2026
Patients who received lab testing ordered by a Planned Parenthood health center on or before October 27, 2024, and current and former Laboratory Services Cooperative employees, may qualify to claim up to $1,000 in cash from the $6.1 million LSC data breach class action settlement. Claims are open through November 24, 2026.
Claims are open. The deadline to file, online or by mail, is November 24, 2026, and the notice
does not specify a timezone. The deadline to exclude yourself or object is October 26, 2026.
The final approval hearing is scheduled for January 4, 2027 at 10:00 a.m. PT by Zoom before the
U.S. District Court for the Western District of Washington, and the court has not ruled on
final approval. No payment date has been announced. Nothing in this settlement is paid
automatically — every benefit, including the monitoring services, requires a claim form.
StatusClaims Open
Claim DeadlineNovember 24, 2026Online or postmarked · no timezone stated in the notice
Estimated PayoutUp to $1,000 pro rataPlus up to $5,000 for documented out-of-pocket losses and 2 years of Medical Shield Complete · $6.1M non-reversionary fund
Proof RequiredNoThe claim portal has a path for people who never received a notice · documentation is required only for the out-of-pocket loss tier
What Changed Recently?
The claim process opened under a proposed settlement in In re Laboratory Services
Cooperative Data Breach Litigation, No. 2:25-cv-00685-BJR, in the U.S. District Court for
the Western District of Washington. Laboratory Services Cooperative is a Washington nonprofit
that runs laboratory testing for certain Planned Parenthood member affiliates, which is why a
case against a laboratory reaches people who never dealt with a laboratory directly — the
testing was ordered through a health center, and the records sat with LSC.
LSC identified suspicious activity on its network on October 27, 2024, and later determined
that patient and worker files may have been accessed and taken. It disclosed the incident
publicly on April 10, 2025. Eight putative class actions followed in the Western District of
Washington beginning April 16, 2025, starting with Daniels v. Laboratory Services
Cooperative — the caption many readers will have seen on a claim page — and all eight were
consolidated into a single action on May 29, 2025. A mediation on December 10, 2025 did not
resolve the case, but negotiations continued and the parties signed this agreement in July
2026.
The complaint alleges LSC failed to adequately protect the information it held. LSC denies all
claims alleged against it and denies all charges of wrongdoing or liability, and the agreement
states expressly that the settlement is not an admission of wrongdoing or an indication that
LSC violated any law. No court has found that LSC did anything unlawful.
Who Qualifies?
The Settlement Class is all U.S. residents whose personal information was potentially
compromised as a result of the data incident LSC became aware of on or about October 27, 2024.
The definition turns on whose records were in the affected files, not on how the person came
into contact with LSC.
In practice the claim form sorts class members into three groups, and a yes to any one of them
is a route in:
Current and former employees of Laboratory Services Cooperative.
People who visited a Planned Parenthood health center and received lab testing services.
People who paid for lab testing services on behalf of a patient who visited a Planned Parenthood health center.
That third group matters for anyone who covered a partner's, a spouse's or an adult child's
testing bill: the payor is inside the class even though the tests were not theirs. Class
members in the patient and payor groups are asked for the patient's name, date of birth, and
the city and state of the health center visited.
The notice is explicit that the incident did not involve every Planned Parenthood health
center or every test done at one — only the centers that used LSC for some lab testing. The
settlement agreement names the affiliates taking part in the health-center notice: Planned
Parenthood California Central Coast; Planned Parenthood Great Northwest, Hawai'i, Alaska,
Indiana, Kentucky; Planned Parenthood of Greater Washington and North Idaho; Planned
Parenthood of Illinois; Planned Parenthood North Central States; and Planned Parenthood of the
Rocky Mountains. Those affiliates are among the released parties, alongside LSC.
The class excludes the judge presiding over the litigation together with the judge's immediate
family and court personnel working on the matter and their immediate families; LSC, its
corporate relatives and any entity in which LSC or its parent companies hold a controlling
interest, along with their current and former officers and directors; and anyone who files a
valid exclusion request by the opt-out deadline.
How Much Can You Get?
A $6,100,000 non-reversionary fund pays for everything here: notice and administration,
any court-awarded fees and expenses, any service awards, documented out-of-pocket losses,
the cash fund payments, and the monitoring services. Because the fund does not revert,
nothing left over returns to LSC.
The three benefits are cumulative rather than alternatives, which is the unusual feature of
this settlement. The claim form carries a separate checkbox for each, and the agreement
describes class members as able to submit claims for out-of-pocket losses, a cash payment and
the monitoring together.
Out-of-pocket losses — up to $5,000
Documented, unreimbursed costs reasonably incurred as a result of the incident are payable up
to $5,000 per person. The notice lists unreimbursed losses relating to fraud or identity
theft; professional fees, including attorneys', accountants' and credit-repair fees; the cost
of freezing or unfreezing credit with a reporting agency; credit monitoring bought on or after
the incident through the date of the claim; and incidentals such as notary, fax, postage,
copying and mileage.
Cash fund payment — up to $1,000
Every class member can claim a pro rata cash payment capped at $1,000. The payments divide
whatever is left of the fund after approved out-of-pocket claims, the monitoring services,
notice and administration expenses, any fee and expense award and any service awards. The
$1,000 figure is therefore a ceiling and not an estimate: the more valid claims are filed, the
smaller each payment. Neither the notice nor the agreement states how many people were
notified, so no per-person figure can be estimated from the documents.
Credit monitoring and Medical Shield
Class members can also claim two years of Medical Shield Complete by CyEx, described in the
notice as comprehensive monitoring for the exposure of medical information, at least one
bureau of credit monitoring, and $1 million in identity theft protection. Registration
information goes to the email address on the claim form, so that field has to be filled in for
this benefit.
Class counsel will apply for attorneys' fees from the fund. The long-form notice and the
settlement website put that request at up to one third of the fund; the signed agreement sets
it at up to 30 percent. Either way it comes out of the same $6.1 million before class members
are paid, along with reimbursement of case costs and expenses and service awards of up to
$2,500 for each of the two class representatives, or $5,000 in total. The court can award less
than any of these amounts.
Payments go out by mailed check or electronic payment — the claim form offers PayPal, Venmo,
Zelle or a check — within 30 days after the settlement becomes effective. Checks are void 90
days after issuance, with 30 more days to ask the administrator to reissue; miss both and the
right to the payment is waived.
What Proof or Notice ID Is Required?
No administrator-issued identifier is needed to file. The claim portal asks whether you have a
Notice ID and Confirmation Code and offers two paths: one for class members who received a
notice and have those credentials, and one labeled for people who did not receive a notice and
need to fill out a claim form. That second path is what keeps this settlement proof-free —
someone who never got a mailing, or threw it out, can still complete a claim online.
The cash fund payment and the monitoring services require no documentation at all. Only the
out-of-pocket loss tier does, and there the notice is specific: receipts or other records that
document the cost, and not documents the claimant prepared themselves. A handwritten receipt
is not enough on its own, though it may be submitted to add context to real records.
Claims are reviewed for completeness and plausibility. A claim found deficient gets a
deficiency notice and 21 days to cure it, and a class member who disputes the
administrator's initial determination can ask counsel for the parties to review it.
What Is the Deadline?
Claims are due November 24, 2026. An online claim has to be submitted by that date and a
mailed claim form has to be postmarked by it. The notice does not specify a timezone, so treat
the date itself as the deadline rather than counting on a late-day cutoff.
Two earlier deadlines both fall on October 26, 2026: the deadline to exclude yourself from the
class, and the deadline to object to the settlement. Excluding yourself preserves any right to
sue LSC separately over the same claims but gives up every settlement benefit. Objecting is
only open to class members who stay in, and a class member can object and still file a claim.
One deadline is worth knowing about even though it is not yours to meet: LSC can walk away
from the settlement if more than three percent of the class files valid exclusion requests.
How Do You Take Action?
Claims are filed on the official settlement website,
LSC Data Settlement.com,
which is run by the court-appointed administrator, Angeion Group. Filing means choosing the
path that matches whether you have a Notice ID and Confirmation Code, answering the three
eligibility questions, checking the benefits you want, and uploading records if you are
claiming out-of-pocket losses. A printable claim form can be downloaded from the same site and
mailed back instead, postmarked by the deadline.
Provide an email address if you want the monitoring services, since that is where registration
details are sent, and pick a payment method — PayPal, Venmo, Zelle or a mailed check. Anyone
whose address or email changes after filing should update it through the settlement website,
because that is where a payment or a request to cure a claim would go.
The settlement website also hosts the documents this page draws on, including the long-form
notice, the claim form, the settlement agreement and the order granting preliminary approval.
What Happens Next?
The next milestone is the final approval hearing on January 4, 2027 at 10:00 a.m. PT, held by
Zoom. The notice says connection information will be posted on the settlement website and on
the court's calendar page at least 24 hours before the hearing, and that the date and time can
change without further notice. At that hearing the court will consider whether the settlement
is fair, reasonable and adequate, and will rule on the request for fees, expenses and service
awards. Timely objections are considered there, and class members may attend at their own
expense without being required to.
Payments follow only if the court approves the settlement and that approval becomes final,
which takes longer if anyone appeals. The agreement sets the effective date no earlier than 30
days after the final approval order, and longer where an extension of the appeal deadline is
sought. No payment date has been announced.
If the settlement is never approved, or is terminated, the case returns to litigation as
though no class had been certified.
Free settlement alerts
Get notified when new class actions open to claims
Join thousands of readers who get the latest class action settlements you may qualify for — delivered straight to your inbox.
Sources and Verification
This page is based on the long-form notice, the claim form, the online claim portal and the
settlement website for
LSC Data Settlement.com,
and on the settlement agreement and release filed as Exhibit A to Document 47-1 in
In re Laboratory Services Cooperative Data Breach Litigation, No. 2:25-cv-00685-BJR,
U.S. District Court for the Western District of Washington. The agreement is the source for
the consolidation history, the affiliate list, the cy pres recipients, the three percent
termination threshold and the payment mechanics; the notice and the claim portal are the
source for the deadlines, the benefit tiers and the filing paths. The notice is embedded
below.
Do I have to have been a Planned Parenthood patient to qualify?
No. The class is defined by whose information was potentially compromised, not by how
the person came into contact with LSC. The claim form asks three separate eligibility
questions: whether you are a current or former LSC employee, whether you visited a Planned
Parenthood health center and received lab testing services, and whether you paid for lab
testing services on behalf of a patient who visited one. A yes to any of them is a route
into the class.
Which Planned Parenthood health centers were involved?
The notice says the incident did not involve every Planned Parenthood health center or
every test done at one, only the centers that used LSC for some lab testing. The
settlement agreement names the affiliates participating in the health-center notice:
Planned Parenthood California Central Coast; Planned Parenthood Great Northwest, Hawai'i,
Alaska, Indiana, Kentucky; Planned Parenthood of Greater Washington and North Idaho;
Planned Parenthood of Illinois; Planned Parenthood North Central States; and Planned
Parenthood of the Rocky Mountains.
Can I claim the cash payment and the documented-loss payment together?
Yes. Unlike settlements that make a flat payment and a documented-loss payment
alternatives to each other, this claim form carries a separate checkbox for out-of-pocket
losses, for the cash fund payment and for the monitoring services, and the settlement
agreement describes class members as able to submit claims for all three.
Will the cash fund payment actually be $1,000?
$1,000 is a ceiling, not a promised amount. The cash fund payments divide whatever is
left of the $6.1 million fund after approved out-of-pocket claims, the monitoring
services, notice and administration costs, any court-awarded fees and expenses, and any
service awards, and they are capped at $1,000 each. The more valid claims are filed, the
smaller each payment is.
What is Medical Shield Complete?
It is the monitoring product offered under this settlement — two years of Medical
Shield Complete by CyEx. The notice describes it as comprehensive monitoring for the
exposure of class members' medical information, at least one bureau of credit monitoring,
and $1 million in identity theft protection. Registration information is sent to the email
address on the claim form, so an email address is needed to receive it.
What happens to money left in the fund?
The fund is non-reversionary, so nothing goes back to LSC. Uncashed checks are
redistributed to valid claimants where a second payment would be at least $5.00, and
anything still left after that goes to a court-approved charity as a cy pres award. The
parties say they will jointly recommend the National Health Law Program and the Alliance
for Women's Health & Prevention.
Official Settlement Notice
For more class actions keep scrolling below.
Settlement Amount
$6,100,000 Non-reversionary · covers all benefits, notice, administration, fees and service awards
Case Title
In re Laboratory Services Cooperative Data Breach Litigation
Case Number
2:25-cv-00685-BJR
Court
U.S. District Court, Western District of Washington
Final Approval Hearing
January 4, 2027 at 10:00 AM PT By Zoom · connection details posted on the settlement website at least 24 hours before · date and time subject to change
More on Medical and Health Provider Data Breach Settlements
CPAP Medical Supplies: Documented out-of-pocket losses plus two years of medical identity monitoring, with no flat cash tier. See who qualifies →
Mental Health Association: A flat $40 with no proof, or up to $5,000 documented plus lost time, and three years of credit monitoring. See who qualifies →
Regional Urology & Ochsner LSU Health: A flat $40 with no proof, or monitoring plus up to $5,000 documented instead — the branches are alternatives. See who qualifies →
American Vision Partners: A $1.75 million fund covering eye-care patients, paying documented losses and pro rata cash. See who qualifies →
Summit Medical Group: Documented losses up to $2,500 plus lost time, cumulative rather than a choice, with two years of monitoring. See who qualifies →