Wayne Memorial Hospital Data Breach Settlement: An Estimated $25 or Up to $5,000 Documented
PublishedSeptember 14, 2026
People notified that their information was involved in the June 2024 data incident at Wayne Memorial Hospital may qualify to claim an estimated $25 in cash, or up to $5,000 for documented losses, from the Wayne Memorial Hospital data breach class action settlement. Claims close December 7, 2026.
Claims are open. The deadline to file, online or by mail, is December 7, 2026, and the notice
does not specify a timezone. The deadline to exclude yourself or object is November 7, 2026.
The final approval hearing is scheduled for January 27, 2027 at 1:30 p.m. ET in the Superior
Court of Wayne County, Georgia, and the court has not ruled on final approval. No payment
date has been announced. Class members who want cash have to file a claim; credit monitoring
is the one benefit that arrives without filing.
Free settlement alerts
Get notified when new class actions open to claims
Join thousands of readers who get the latest class action settlements you may qualify for — delivered straight to your inbox.
StatusClaims Open
Claim DeadlineDecember 7, 2026Online or postmarked · no timezone stated in the notice
Estimated Payout$25 or up to $5,000Estimated $25 Alternate Cash, capped at $300,000 class-wide, or documented losses instead · plus 2 years of credit monitoring
Proof RequiredYesCPT ID and Passcode from the notice to file online · documentation also required for the $5,000 tier
What Changed Recently?
The claim process opened under a proposed settlement in Bates, et al. v. Wayne Memorial
Hospital Auxiliary, Inc. d/b/a Wayne Memorial Hospital, No. SUCV2025000239, in the
Superior Court of Wayne County, Georgia. The hospital discovered the incident on or around
June 3, 2024, determined that an unauthorized party had access to its network from
approximately May 30 to June 3, 2024, and began sending notification letters on or around
August 27, 2025. Separate proposed class actions followed, were consolidated before this
court, and the parties reached terms after a mediation in May 2026.
The complaint alleges the hospital was negligent or otherwise responsible for failing to
prevent the incident, and pleads negligence, breach of implied contract and unjust
enrichment. The hospital denies the allegations, and the settlement was reached without any
admission of wrongdoing. No court has found that the hospital did anything unlawful.
Who Qualifies?
The Settlement Class is everyone whose private information was accessible because of the data
incident discovered on or around June 3, 2024. In practice, that is the group the hospital
sent notice to beginning in August 2025 — the settlement agreement describes files containing
the private information of approximately 163,440 individuals.
The class excludes the hospital's directors and officers, governmental entities, the judge
assigned to the case together with the judge's immediate family and court staff, and anyone
who opts out of the settlement in time.
How Much Can You Get?
The settlement offers two cash options that are alternatives to each other, plus credit
monitoring that does not depend on which cash option is chosen.
Cash Payment A covers documented losses up to $5,000 per class member for out-of-pocket
losses tied to fraud or identity theft. The notice sets four conditions: the loss has to be
an actual, documented and unreimbursed monetary loss; it has to be more likely than not
caused by the incident; it has to have been incurred on or after the date of the incident;
and the class member has to have made reasonable but unsuccessful efforts to avoid the loss
or to get it reimbursed elsewhere. Losses already reimbursed from another source, including
through a credit monitoring or identity protection product, are not payable again.
Cash Payment B is the Alternate Cash option — an estimated $25 with no documentation at all.
That figure is an estimate, not a fixed amount: Alternate Cash awards cannot exceed a
$300,000 Settlement Cap, and if claims pass the cap every Alternate Cash award is reduced pro
rata until it no longer does.
Credit monitoring is separate. Every class member is entitled to enroll in two years of
single-bureau credit monitoring that includes $1,000,000 of identity theft insurance, using
an enrollment code sent with the notice. The code becomes effective after final approval, and
enrolling does not require filing a claim.
The notice does not state a total settlement fund. Cash payments, credit monitoring,
administration costs and any court-awarded fees and service awards are to be paid by, or on
behalf of, the hospital. Class counsel intend to ask the court for fees and costs of up to
$525,000, and for service awards of up to $2,500 for each of the seven class
representatives, or up to $17,500 in total. The court can award less.
What Proof or Notice ID Is Required?
Filing online is gated on an administrator-issued credential. The claim portal on the
settlement website asks for a CPT ID and a Passcode, and the site says both can be found on
the notice that was sent to class members. That makes this a proof-required settlement even
for the Alternate Cash option, which asks for no documentation of any loss: a class member
who never received a notice, or who no longer has it, cannot complete the online form with
what they already know.
A paper claim form can be requested and mailed instead, which is the route for anyone without
those credentials, but a mailed form is a workaround rather than an open online filing path.
Cash Payment A carries a second, separate requirement: reasonable documentation of the loss
itself. The notice is explicit that a personal certification, declaration or affidavit does
not by itself count as documentation, though one may be submitted to add context to other
records. A documented-loss claim that arrives without supporting records, and is not cured
after the administrator asks, is rejected.
What Is the Deadline?
Claims are due December 7, 2026. An online claim has to be submitted by that date and a
mailed claim form has to be postmarked by it. The notice does not specify a timezone, so
treat the date itself as the deadline and do not count on a late-day cutoff.
Two earlier deadlines both fall on November 7, 2026: the deadline to exclude yourself from
the class, and the deadline to object to the settlement. Excluding yourself preserves the
right to sue the hospital separately over the same claims, but it also gives up both the cash
payment and the credit monitoring. Objecting is only available to class members who stay in.
How Do You Take Action?
Claims are filed on the official settlement website,
WMH Data Settlement.com,
which is run by the court-appointed administrator, CPT Group, Inc. Filing online means signing
in with the CPT ID and Passcode printed on the notice, choosing between the documented-loss
payment and the Alternate Cash payment, and uploading records if the documented-loss option is
selected. A paper claim form can be requested through the settlement website instead and mailed
back, postmarked by the deadline.
Class members who only want the credit monitoring do not need to file anything. The enrollment
code was sent with the notice and becomes effective after final approval. Anyone whose mailing
or email address changes after filing should update it with the administrator through the
settlement website, because that is where a payment or a request to cure a claim would be sent.
What Happens Next?
The next milestone is the final approval hearing on January 27, 2027 at 1:30 p.m. ET in the
Superior Court of Wayne County, Georgia. At that hearing the court will consider whether the
settlement is fair, reasonable and adequate, and will rule on class counsel's request for
fees, costs and service awards. Timely objections are considered there, and class members may
attend at their own expense without being required to.
The notice says the hearing date and time can change, and that any change will be posted on
the settlement website. Payments follow only if the court approves the settlement and that
approval becomes final, which can take longer if anyone appeals. No payment date has been
announced.
Sources and Verification
This page is based on the official notice of proposed class action settlement, the claim
portal and the settlement website for
WMH Data Settlement.com,
and the settlement agreement filed in Bates, et al. v. Wayne Memorial Hospital Auxiliary,
Inc. d/b/a Wayne Memorial Hospital, No. SUCV2025000239, Superior Court of Wayne County,
Georgia. The notice is embedded below. Figures for the class size, the consolidation of the
related cases and the May 2026 mediation come from the settlement agreement; the benefit
tiers, deadlines and hearing date come from the notice.
Can I take both the $25 Alternate Cash and the documented-loss payment?
No. Cash Payment A (documented losses up to $5,000) and Cash Payment B (Alternate Cash,
estimated at $25) are alternatives, and the notice describes Alternate Cash as an option
instead of a documented-loss claim. Credit monitoring is separate and is available on top
of either cash option.
Can the estimated $25 payment be reduced?
Yes. Alternate Cash awards cannot exceed a $300,000 Settlement Cap. If total Alternate
Cash claims pass that cap, the notice says every Alternate Cash award is reduced pro rata
until the cap is no longer exceeded, so $25 is an estimate rather than a guaranteed
amount.
Do I need my CPT ID and Passcode to file?
The online claim portal asks for a CPT ID and Passcode, and the settlement website says
both appear on the notice that was mailed or emailed to class members. A paper claim form
can be requested instead, but filing online is gated on those credentials, so the
settlement is proof-required.
What happens if I do nothing at all?
Class members who do nothing still receive a credit monitoring enrollment code, which
becomes effective after final approval, but no cash payment. They also stay in the
Settlement Class, are bound by the settlement if the court approves it, and give up the
right to sue over the claims the settlement resolves.
When will payments go out?
No payment date has been announced. The notice says valid claims are paid by the
settlement administrator after the court approves the settlement and the approval becomes
final. The final approval hearing is scheduled for January 27, 2027, and the court has not
yet ruled.
Official Settlement Notice
For more class actions keep scrolling below.
Settlement Amount
No common fund disclosed Alternate Cash payments capped at $300,000 class-wide
Case Title
Bates, et al. v. Wayne Memorial Hospital Auxiliary, Inc. d/b/a Wayne Memorial Hospital
Case Number
SUCV2025000239
Court
Superior Court of Wayne County, Georgia
Final Approval Hearing
January 27, 2027 at 1:30 PM ET Superior Court of Wayne County, Jesup, Georgia · date and time subject to change
More on Hospital and Health System Data Breach Settlements
Tift Regional Health System & Southwell: Another Georgia hospital breach, paying an estimated $75 pro rata with no documentation or up to $5,000 documented. See who qualifies →
Susan B. Allen Memorial Hospital: Up to $100 in cash under a single cap covering both options, plus two years of medical identity monitoring. See who qualifies →
Summit Medical Group: Documented losses up to $2,500 plus lost time, cumulative rather than a choice, with two years of monitoring. See who qualifies →
Regional Urology & Ochsner LSU Health: A flat $40 with no proof, or monitoring plus up to $5,000 documented instead — the branches are alternatives. See who qualifies →
Valley Oaks Health: A flat $40 with nothing to document, or documented losses plus lost time, with two years of monitoring either way. See who qualifies →