Jack’s Family Restaurants Data Breach Settlement — $55 Cash, Lost Time or Up to $4,000 Documented
PublishedSeptember 14, 2026
People notified that their private information was involved in the July–August 2025 cyberattack on Jack’s Family Restaurants, LP may qualify to claim a $55 cash payment, or instead up to $4,080 in documented losses and lost time, plus three years of credit monitoring. Claims close November 30, 2026.
Claims are open. The deadline to file is November 30, 2026 — online claims must be submitted by that
date, and mailed claim forms must be postmarked by it. The deadline to opt out of the settlement or to
object to it is November 13, 2026. The court has scheduled a final approval hearing for December 15,
2026 at 9:00 a.m. ET; no final approval order has been entered, and no payment date has been announced.
Filing online requires the LoginID and PIN printed on the notice sent to class members, so anyone who
still has that notice should keep it before starting a claim.
Free settlement alerts
Get notified when new class actions open to claims
Join thousands of readers who get the latest class action settlements you may qualify for — delivered straight to your inbox.
StatusClaims Open
Claim DeadlineNovember 30, 2026Online submission or postmark · Opt out or object by November 13, 2026
Estimated Payout$55, or up to $4,080$55 alternative cash, or instead up to $4,000 documented plus $20/hour for up to 4 hours of lost time · 3 years of credit monitoring for every class member
Proof RequiredYes — ID to file onlineLoginID and PIN from the notice are required to start the online claim form · The $55 tier needs no receipts; documented losses need third-party records
What Changed Recently?
The court authorized notice to the settlement class, which opened the claim window and put the official
settlement website, the long-form notice, the claim form and the settlement agreement in front of class
members for the first time. The underlying case is a consolidated data breach class action captioned
In re Jack’s Family Restaurants, LP Data Breach Litigation, No. 2:25-cv-01861-LCB, in the U.S. District
Court for the Northern District of Alabama.
Jack’s denies that it did anything wrong, and the court has not decided who is right. The parties say
they agreed to settle to avoid the costs, risks, disruptions and uncertainties of continuing the
litigation. Class members who already received a notice directly from Jack’s about the incident may now
receive a second notice, this one from the settlement administrator, carrying the credentials needed to
file.
Who Qualifies?
The court defined the settlement class as all persons residing in the United States whose private
information was compromised by the data incident, including all persons who were sent notice of the data
incident. The incident was a targeted cyberattack on Jack’s computer systems that the notice places at
approximately July 24 through August 10, 2025. Files accessed during that window may have contained
names, Social Security numbers, dates of birth, addresses, phone numbers, and bank account information
used for direct deposit of wages — the specific categories varied by individual, so not every class
member’s file held every type.
Three groups are excluded: directors, officers and employees of Jack’s; the judge assigned to the case,
that judge’s immediate family and court staff; and any class member who properly opts out. Anyone unsure
whether they are in the class can check through the contact options on the official settlement website.
How Much Can You Get?
The settlement pays through one credit monitoring benefit and three cash routes, and the cash routes do
not all stack.
Every settlement class member is eligible for three years of identity theft protection and credit
monitoring. The notice describes the service as potentially including real-time monitoring of a credit
file at a credit bureau, dark web scanning with notification of potential misuse, public record
monitoring, identity restoration and recovery services, and $1,000,000 in identity theft insurance with
no deductible.
Cash Payment A covers documented out-of-pocket losses caused by the incident, up to $4,000. The notice
gives examples: unreimbursed charges from banks or credit card companies, unreimbursed costs to replace a
driver’s license, Social Security number or other identification, unreimbursed costs for credit reports,
and unreimbursed costs for credit monitoring or identity theft protection first purchased between July
24, 2025 and the claims deadline. That last category has an extra condition — proof of purchase plus a
written statement that the service was bought primarily because of this incident.
Cash Payment B reimburses lost time at $20.00 per hour for up to four hours spent responding to the
incident, a maximum of $80.00. It can be claimed on its own or on top of Cash Payment A, so the combined
documented-loss ceiling is $4,080.
Cash Payment C is a flat $55.00 alternative cash payment, available in lieu of both A and B. For a class
member with no receipts and no meaningful time to document, it is the practical route; for one with real
out-of-pocket losses, the documented path is worth more but requires third-party records.
The notice does not publish a total settlement fund figure, and it describes no pro rata reduction of the
cash tiers. Class counsel will ask the court to approve attorneys’ fees of up to $351,000.00 plus
reasonable costs, which the notice says Jack’s will pay, and service awards of $2,500.00 for each class
representative, which the notice says would come from the settlement fund. All of those amounts are
requests — the court decides them at the final approval hearing.
What Proof or Notice ID Is Required?
Filing online is gated. The settlement website states that to start the online claim form a class member
must log in with a LoginID and PIN, both printed on the notice that was sent to them. That makes this a
proof-required settlement even for the $55 alternative cash payment, which itself asks for no receipts:
someone who never received a notice cannot log in.
A class member who cannot locate those credentials can request them from the settlement administrator
through the contact options on the official settlement website, and a printable claim form can be
downloaded from the same site and mailed instead of filing online.
Documentation is separate from that login gate. Cash Payment A requires third-party documentation such as
receipts to verify the costs claimed. The notice is explicit that self-prepared documents may be
submitted to clarify or support other documentation but are not sufficient on their own to make a valid
claim. The $55 alternative cash payment and the lost-time reimbursement do not call for receipts, though
the claim form is signed under penalty of perjury.
What Is the Deadline?
The claim deadline is November 30, 2026. An online claim form must be submitted by that date; a mailed
claim form, with any supporting documentation, must be postmarked no later than that date. The notice
does not specify a timezone for the claim deadline.
The deadline to exclude yourself from the settlement or to object to it is November 13, 2026, and an
opt-out request must be postmarked by that date. Opting out preserves the right to sue Jack’s separately
but forfeits every settlement benefit; objecting keeps a class member in the settlement and bound by its
terms. A class member who objects may still file a claim. A class member who opts out cannot object,
because the settlement no longer affects them.
How Do You Take Action?
Claims are filed through the
official Jack’s Data Breach Settlement website,
which hosts the claim portal, the long-form notice, the claim form and the settlement agreement. Have the
notice at hand for the LoginID and PIN, decide between the documented route and the $55 alternative cash
payment before starting, and decide separately whether to elect the credit monitoring, which is claimed
on the same form. A printable claim form is available on the same site for anyone who prefers to file by
mail.
What Happens Next?
The next scheduled milestone is the final approval hearing on December 15, 2026 at 9:00 a.m. ET, at the
U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Alabama in Huntsville, or by videoconference if the
court so orders. Class members are not required to attend. At that hearing the court will decide whether
to approve the settlement, how much class counsel is paid, whether to award service awards, and will
consider any objections. The notice warns that the hearing date and time may change without further
notice.
If the court grants final approval, benefits are distributed after that order and after any appeals are
resolved. The notice says it is not known whether appeals will be filed or how long they would take. No
payment date has been announced as of September 14, 2026.
· Official Jack’s Data Breach Settlement website — home page, FAQs, important dates and claim form login
· Notice of Proposed Class Action Settlement, In re Jack’s Family Restaurants, LP Data Breach Litigation, No. 2:25-cv-01861-LCB (embedded below)
· Settlement Agreement and Claim Form, linked from the Important Documents page of the official settlement website
· FTC — Identity Theft and Online Security
Questions
Can I take the $55 alternative cash payment and also claim lost time?
No. The notice describes the $55 Alternative Cash Payment as available in lieu of both Cash
Payment A for documented losses and Cash Payment B for lost time, so the three cash routes do not
stack. Documented losses and lost time can be combined with each other: a class member may submit
a documented-loss claim and also claim up to four hours at $20 an hour.
Does claiming credit monitoring reduce the cash payment?
No. The notice presents the three years of identity theft protection and credit monitoring as a
benefit every settlement class member is eligible for alongside a cash payment, rather than as an
alternative to one. A class member may claim credit monitoring and either the documented-loss and
lost-time route or the $55 alternative cash payment.
What if I never received a notice with a LoginID and PIN?
The online claim form cannot be started without the LoginID and PIN printed on the notice. The
settlement website explains that class members who cannot locate their credentials can request
them from the settlement administrator using the contact options on the official settlement
website, and that a printable claim form can be downloaded and mailed instead.
Does the settlement cover bank account information used for direct deposit?
Yes. The notice lists bank account information used for direct deposit of wages among the
categories of private information that may have been in the files accessed during the incident,
alongside names, Social Security numbers, dates of birth, addresses and phone numbers. The
categories varied by individual, so not every class member’s file contained every type.
How large is the settlement fund?
The notice does not state a total settlement fund figure. It says Jack’s will cause the settlement
benefits to be paid, that class counsel will ask the court to approve attorneys’ fees of up to
$351,000 plus reasonable costs to be paid by Jack’s, and that service awards of $2,500 for each
class representative would be paid from the settlement fund. Because no aggregate figure is
published, the notice also describes no pro rata reduction of the cash tiers.
Official Settlement Notice
For more class actions keep scrolling below.
Settlement Amount
Not disclosed in the notice No total fund figure is published; benefits are paid per claim
Case Title
In re Jack’s Family Restaurants, LP Data Breach Litigation
Case Number
2:25-cv-01861-LCB
Court
U.S. District Court, Northern District of Alabama
Final Approval Hearing
December 15, 2026 at 9:00 AM ET Huntsville, Alabama, or by videoconference upon order of the court