Antitrust · Claims Open · File by October 29, 2026 HOT
$117 Million Pork Price-Fixing Class Action Settlement: Grocery Shoppers in 24 States Can Claim With No Receipts
PublishedAugust 31, 2026
People who bought raw pork or bacon at a grocery store in one of 24 states between June 28, 2014 and June 30, 2018 may qualify to claim a pro rata cash payment from the $117.065 million pork price-fixing class action settlement, with no receipts required. Claims close October 29, 2026.
Claims are open. The deadline to submit a claim form online or by mail is October 29,
2026; the notice does not state a cutoff time of day for online filing, and mailed forms
must be postmarked by that date. Five defendants have agreed to pay a combined
$117,065,000, and a sixth, Agri Stats, has agreed to change certain business practices
rather than pay cash. The final approval hearing is set for December 11, 2026 at
11:00 a.m. CST before Judge John R. Tunheim in the District of Minnesota. No approval
order has been entered and no payment date has been announced, so filing now secures a
claim but does not trigger an immediate payment. If you shopped for pork in one of the
24 covered states during the class period, the practical next step is to file: no
receipts are required.
Free settlement alerts
Get notified when new class actions open to claims
Join thousands of readers who get the latest class action settlements you may qualify for — delivered straight to your inbox.
StatusClaims Openfinal approval hearing December 11, 2026 · no ruling yet
Claim DeadlineOctober 29, 2026online or postmarked · the same date applies to opting out and objecting
Estimated PayoutPro rata share of $117.065Mscaled to what you spent on eligible pork · no per-person figure has been published
Proof RequiredNono documentation at filing and no notice ID needed · the administrator may request support later
What Changed Recently?
Every defendant in the consumer track has now settled. Clemens, Hormel, Seaboard,
Triumph and Tyson agreed to pay a combined $117,065,000, and Agri Stats agreed to a set
of conduct reforms instead of a cash payment. That completes the case against the group,
and it is what opened the current claim window. Notice was issued earlier for separate
settlements with JBS and Smithfield; those claim periods have closed, and this is a new
claim covering the remaining defendants.
The complaint alleges that pork processors inflated and stabilized the price and supply
of pork through the use of Agri Stats, production restraints and exports. The court has
not ruled that any defendant did anything wrong, and the companies deny all allegations
of wrongdoing. A settlement is an agreement to end the case without a decision on who is
right.
Who Qualifies?
The settlement class covers people and entities who indirectly bought eligible raw pork
for personal consumption between June 28, 2014 and June 30, 2018. "Indirectly" means you
did not buy from one of the defendant processors — you bought at a grocery store or
supermarket for yourself or your household.
The purchase must have been made in one of 24 jurisdictions, referred to in the case as
Repealer Jurisdictions: Arizona, California, the District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii,
Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New
Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South
Carolina, Tennessee, Utah and West Virginia. Purchases made outside those states are not
covered, even if everything else about them fits.
The eligible products are raw pork bacon, and raw pork — fresh or frozen — made from
bellies, loins, shoulder, ribs or pork chops. Excluded are pork marketed as organic or
no-antibiotics-ever, and any product other than bacon that is marinated, seasoned,
flavored or breaded. Bacon stays in the class even when it is smoked or seasoned.
Defendants, their officers, directors and employees, government entities, the judicial
officers assigned to the case and their immediate families and staff, jurors, and any
identified co-conspirators are excluded from the class.
Which Pork Products Are Covered?
Exhibit 5 to the settlement agreements lists 92 cuts by name. The list is reproduced
below so you can check a purchase against it directly. It covers raw, uncooked products
only; pre-cooked products are out, as are organic and no-antibiotics-ever products and
any non-bacon product that is marinated, seasoned, flavored or breaded.
Some cut names above link to a current example of that cut on
Amazon, so you can see what the cut is. Those are affiliate links and OpenClassActions
may earn a commission from a purchase. They are illustrations only — eligibility depends
on what you bought between 2014 and 2018 in a covered state, not on anything you buy
today, and buying nothing changes your right to file.
How Much Can You Get?
No per-person figure has been published, and the administrator states that the amount
each claimant receives is not yet known. Payments will be made pro rata — an equal share
in proportion to how much eligible pork you bought — and will depend on how many valid
claims are filed. The claim form asks whether you bought eligible pork monthly across
the class period and for your best estimate of monthly spending, and those answers drive
the calculation.
The cash comes from five funds: Tyson at $85,000,000, Clemens at $13,500,000, Seaboard
at $10,000,000, Hormel at $4,465,000 and Triumph at $4,100,000. Agri Stats contributes
no cash. Attorneys' fees of up to one third of each fund, up to $5,000,000 in litigation
expenses, administration costs and service awards to the class representatives come out
of those funds before distribution, all subject to court approval. The administrator may
set a minimum payment, and there may be more than one round of distribution where that is
economically feasible.
What Proof or Notice ID Is Required?
None to file. The claim form asks for your purchase information, and the settlement
administrator states that you do not need to provide documentation at the time of
filing. There is no notice ID, claim ID or PIN gating the online form, which is why this
page is marked Proof Required: No rather than merely "no receipts."
That is not a promise that nothing will ever be asked for. The administrator reserves the
right to request additional information or documentation to support a claim, so keep any
grocery records or loyalty-card history you happen to have. You are also certifying your
answers, so estimate honestly rather than optimistically.
What Is the Deadline?
October 29, 2026. Online claims must be submitted by that date and mailed claim forms
must be postmarked by it. The official notice does not state a cutoff time of day or a
timezone for online submissions. The same October 29, 2026 date is also the deadline to
exclude yourself from the settlements and the deadline to object.
One practical caution the administrator raises: mail is postmarked when it reaches a
processing facility, not when it is dropped in a box, so a form mailed close to the
deadline can miss it. Filing online avoids the issue entirely.
How Do You Take Action?
File the claim form on the official settlement website,
Overcharged For Pork.com,
by October 29, 2026. The form asks whether you are filing as an individual or a
business, for your contact details, whether you bought eligible pork products in one of
the 24 covered states, whether you bought monthly across the class period, and your best
estimate of monthly spending. After you submit, the site emails a confirmation code —
keep it, as it is what identifies your claim later.
The official site also hosts a product lookup tool if you want to check a specific cut
beyond the list above, and copies of each settlement agreement. If your mailing or email
address changes after you file, it is your responsibility to tell the administrator
through the contact page on that site.
What Happens Next?
The court will hold a final approval hearing on December 11, 2026 at 11:00 a.m. CST in
Minneapolis, and class members may attend but are not required to. The judge can approve
or decline to approve the settlements as written; the court cannot rewrite their terms.
At the same hearing the court will consider the requested attorneys' fees, expenses and
service awards.
The settlements take effect only if the court approves them and any appeals are
resolved. No payment date has been announced, and the administrator asks class members to
check the official website for updates rather than expect a schedule now.
Court-approved email notice to the class, reproduced below
Frequently asked questions published by the settlement administrator, Epiq
Exhibit 5 to the settlement agreements — list of included pork products
In re Pork Antitrust Litigation (Consumer Indirect Purchaser Plaintiffs),
No. 0:18-cv-1776-JRT-JFD, U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota
Questions
Do I need receipts to file a pork settlement claim?
No. The claim form asks you to estimate what you spent per month on eligible
pork, and the settlement administrator states that no documentation is needed at the
time of filing. The administrator may request additional information or
documentation later to support a claim, so keep whatever records you do have.
Does buying pork at a grocery store count as an indirect purchase?
Yes. An indirect purchase means you did not buy the pork from one of the
defendant processors. Buying it at a grocery store or supermarket for your own or
your household's consumption is exactly what the consumer class covers.
Why is organic or antibiotic-free pork excluded from the settlement?
The settlement class is defined around the conventional raw pork products at
issue in the case. Pork marketed as organic or no-antibiotics-ever is outside that
definition, as is any product other than bacon that is marinated, seasoned, flavored
or breaded. Bacon is included even when it is smoked or seasoned.
I already filed a claim in the JBS or Smithfield pork settlement. Can I file again?
The JBS and Smithfield claim periods have closed, and this is a separate claim
covering the Clemens, Hormel, Seaboard, Triumph and Tyson settlements. Filing in the
earlier round does not carry over, so a new claim form is required to share in these
funds.
Does the Agri Stats settlement pay any money?
No. Agri Stats agreed to changes in its business practices rather than a cash
payment, and class members cannot opt out of that part of the resolution. All of the
cash in this claim comes from the Clemens, Hormel, Seaboard, Triumph and Tyson
settlements.
Generic Drug Price-Fixing Settlements: More than $850 million across the end-payer programs for anyone who paid for generic prescriptions between 2009 and 2019. See who qualifies →
Beef & Pork Processing Wages: $202.7 million for plant workers, with noticed class members paid automatically. See who qualifies →
RealPage Rental Software Antitrust: $359.9 million for renters whose rent was allegedly set with shared pricing software. See who qualifies →
Kroger Prescription Pricing: $17 million for people who filled prescriptions at Kroger pharmacies. See who qualifies →
NAR Homebuyer Antitrust: $120.3 million for buyers who paid a broker commission on an MLS-listed home. See who qualifies →