Saint-Gobain and CertainTeed Washington Job Applicants Get an Estimated $1,271.91 — No Claim Form to File
PublishedSeptember 15, 2026
People who applied for a job in Washington with Saint-Gobain or CertainTeed between January 1, 2023 and July 26, 2025, where the posting left out the pay range, will be paid automatically from the companies' records; there is no claim form to file. The notice estimates $1,271.91 per person, and October 8, 2026 is the deadline to opt out, object or change how the payment is sent.
The settlement received preliminary approval on August 10, 2026, and notice has gone out. There
is no claim form: every class member who does not opt out is eligible for an equal share of the
fund, mailed automatically once the settlement is final. The notice puts that share at an
estimated $1,271.91.
October 8, 2026 is the deadline to request exclusion, to file an objection, or to use the
settlement website to update a mailing address or switch from a paper check to a digital payment.
None of those steps is required to be paid. The final approval hearing is set for January 15,
2027, and no money moves before then.
The one thing worth doing is confirming the administrator has a current address. Payment arrives
by mail by default, and an address that has gone stale since the application is the most common
reason a class member never sees a check.
Free settlement alerts
Get notified when new class actions open to claims
Join thousands of readers who get the latest class action settlements you may qualify for — delivered straight to your inbox.
StatusPending Final ApprovalPreliminarily approved August 10, 2026 · final approval hearing January 15, 2027
Opt-Out / Object ByOctober 8, 2026Not a claim deadline — the same date also closes address updates and payment-method changes
Estimated Payout$1,271.91Equal share of a $1,628,000 fund · reported as non-wage damages and interest on a 1099
Proof RequiredAutomatic PaymentNo claim form to file — payment is mailed automatically to class members who do not opt out
What Changed Recently?
King County Superior Court preliminarily approved the settlement on August 10, 2026 and
authorized Simpluris, Inc. to send notice. That is what moved the case from a pending lawsuit to
a settlement with real dates attached, and it is why class members are receiving notices with a
Login ID and PIN printed on them.
The defendants deny that they are or can be held liable for the claims in the lawsuit, and the
settlement is not an admission of wrongdoing. The court has not decided who should win; the
parties settled to avoid the cost and uncertainty of continued litigation.
Who Qualifies?
The settlement class covers anyone who applied for a job opening in Washington State with the
defendants between January 1, 2023 and July 26, 2025, where the job posting did not disclose the
wage scale or salary range along with a general description of benefits or other compensation.
Seven related companies are named as defendants:
• Saint-Gobain Adfors America, Inc.
• Saint-Gobain Abrasives, Inc.
• Saint-Gobain Ceramics & Plastics, Inc.
• Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics Corporation
• Saint-Gobain Shared Services Corporation
• Vetrotech Saint-Gobain North America, Inc.
• CertainTeed Gypsum Manufacturing Inc.
Class membership was determined from the defendants' own application records, which is why
notices went out to identified people rather than being advertised for anyone to respond to.
Someone who applied during the class period but is unsure whether a notice was sent can contact
the administrator through the official settlement website.
Note on the class period: the class definition ends July 26, 2025 both in the notice and
on the settlement website. One narrative paragraph of the mailed notice says "July 26, 2026"
instead. The operative definition is the one that appears twice, so treat the window as January
1, 2023 through July 26, 2025, and confirm with the administrator if an application falls near
that edge.
How Much Can You Get?
The settlement fund is $1,628,000. Class members who do not opt out share it equally, which is
why the notice quotes one figure rather than a calculation: the estimated payment is
$1,271.91 for everyone in the class.
That figure is an estimate. It is net of the amounts class counsel will ask the court to approve
— attorneys' fees of $542,666.66, costs and expenses of up to $5,000, and a $20,000 service
award for the class representative — plus administration costs. The court decides those
amounts and may award less than requested, and the number of people who opt out also moves the
per-person share. Whether the settlement is approved does not depend on how much the court awards
in fees or service award.
Payments are characterized as non-wage damages and interest, reported on a Form 1099 rather than
a W-2. For what that means on a personal return, consult the IRS or a qualified tax professional.
What Proof or Notice ID Is Required?
None, to be paid. There is no claim form and no documentation to submit, and nobody has to prove
they applied — the class list came from the defendants' records.
A Login ID and PIN, printed on the mailed notice, are needed only for the optional steps: logging
into the settlement website to update contact information or to switch from a mailed check to a
digital payment. A class member who cannot find those credentials can request them from the
administrator through the official settlement website, and a downloadable address form can be
submitted without logging in at all. Because none of this gates the payment, the page is marked
Automatic Payment rather than Proof Required.
What Is the Deadline?
October 8, 2026 is the operative date, and it is not a claim deadline. By that date a
class member can:
• Request exclusion — by letter, postmarked no later than October 8, 2026, to
the administrator. It must give the full name and address, say plainly that the sender wants to
be excluded from the settlement in Mitchell v. Saint-Gobain Adfors America, Inc., et al.,
and be signed and dated. Exclusion cannot be requested by phone or email, and group requests are
not accepted. Excluding yourself means no payment, but it preserves the right to sue separately.
• Object — by filing a written objection with King County Superior Court and
mailing copies to class counsel and defense counsel, all by October 8, 2026. An objection must
include contact information, the case name and number, the reasons for objecting, whether the
objector or an attorney intends to appear, and a list of any other class settlement objections
filed in the past three years. Objecting only works if you stay in the class.
• Update an address or choose a digital payment — through the settlement
website using the Login ID and PIN from the notice, or by submitting the address form.
Doing nothing by October 8 keeps a class member in the settlement and eligible for the automatic
payment. Important: the settlement website's FAQ answer on what happens if you do nothing
says you will receive no payment, while the mailed notice says you will receive one. Every other
part of both documents describes an automatic equal-share payment to class members who do not opt
out, so the website answer appears to be an error — but it is one more reason to confirm
your address with the administrator rather than assume the check will find you.
How Do You Take Action?
For most class members there is nothing to do. The useful step is confirming the administrator
has a current mailing address, which can be done at the
official settlement website with the Login ID and PIN from the notice, or
by submitting the address form the notice includes. The same login is where a class member can
elect a digital payment instead of a check.
An address that changes later still matters — payments do not go out until after final
approval and any appeals, which can be well over a year from now, so a move in the meantime
should be reported to the administrator.
What Happens Next?
The final approval hearing is scheduled for January 15, 2027 at 10:00 a.m. before Judge Jessica
Manca in King County Superior Court in Seattle. At that hearing the court will decide whether the
settlement is fair, reasonable and adequate, and will rule on the requested attorneys' fees,
costs and service award. Class members may attend at their own expense but do not have to, and an
objection that was properly filed will be considered whether or not the objector shows up.
Hearing dates move. Any change is posted on the settlement website or reflected on the court's
public docket. If the court approves the settlement, payments are issued after all appeals and
other reviews are complete. Checks expire 180 calendar days after issuance, so one that arrives
should be deposited rather than set aside.
Why Washington Keeps Producing These Settlements
Since January 1, 2023, RCW 49.58.110 has required employers with 15 or more employees to include
a wage scale or salary range, plus a general description of benefits and other compensation, in
every job posting for a Washington position. The statute lets an applicant who was shown a
non-compliant posting recover statutory damages, which makes each posting a countable violation
and a class of applicants straightforward to define from an employer's own records.
That is why OCA tracks more than a dozen of these at once, and why the payouts cluster in the
same range regardless of how large the employer is: the fund is driven by how many Washington
applicants saw non-compliant postings during the class period, not by company size. The full set
is on OCA's
Washington
job posting pay transparency settlements page.
Is there a claim form for the Saint-Gobain Washington job postings settlement?
No. There is no claim form. Every settlement class member who does not opt out is eligible
for an equal share of the class fund, and the payment is mailed automatically after the
settlement becomes final. The only thing a class member needs to do is make sure the
settlement administrator, Simpluris, has a current mailing address on file.
Who is in the Saint-Gobain settlement class?
People who applied for a job opening in Washington State with the Saint-Gobain and
CertainTeed entities named in the lawsuit between January 1, 2023 and July 26, 2025, where
the job posting did not disclose the wage scale or salary range and a general description of
benefits or other compensation. Seven related companies are named as defendants, listed
above.
How much is the Saint-Gobain job postings settlement payment?
The notice puts the estimated payment at $1,271.91. Class members share the fund equally,
so the figure is the same for everyone rather than being calculated per person, and it is an
estimate: the amount can change depending on what the court awards in attorneys' fees, costs
and the class representative service award, and on how many people opt out. Payments are
characterized as non-wage damages and interest, reported on a Form 1099.
What is the October 8, 2026 deadline for?
It is not a claim deadline, because there is no claim to file. It is the deadline to
request exclusion from the settlement, to file an objection with the court, and to use the
settlement website to update a mailing address or switch from a mailed check to a digital
payment. Class members who do nothing by that date stay in the class and remain eligible for
the automatic payment.
When will Saint-Gobain settlement payments be sent?
Not until after the final approval hearing, which is scheduled for January 15, 2027 at
10:00 a.m. before Judge Jessica Manca in King County Superior Court. If the court approves the
settlement, payments go out after any appeals or other reviews are resolved, which can add
months. Checks expire and become void 180 calendar days after they are issued, so a class
member who receives one should deposit it promptly.
What law did the Saint-Gobain job postings lawsuit rely on?
RCW 49.58.110, the pay transparency provision of the Washington Equal Pay and
Opportunities Act, which since January 1, 2023 has required employers with 15 or more
employees to disclose a wage scale or salary range and a general description of benefits and
other compensation in each job posting. The defendants deny that they are or can be held
liable, and the settlement is not an admission of wrongdoing.
Can participating in the settlement affect a future job application?
The notice states that the defendants support the settlement and will not retaliate in any
way against a settlement class member, and that a class member's decision will not affect any
application for employment or the defendants' treatment of them as a prospective, current or
former employee.
Official Settlement Notice
For more class actions keep scrolling below.
Settlement Amount
$1,628,000
Case Title
Kyle Mitchell v. Saint-Gobain Adfors America, Inc., et al.
Case Number
24-2-26966-5 SEA
Court
Superior Court of Washington for King County The Honorable Jessica Manca
Preliminary Approval
August 10, 2026
Final Approval Hearing
January 15, 2027 at 10:00 AM King County Courthouse, Seattle — date subject to change by court order
Opt-Out / Objection Deadline
October 8, 2026
Estimated Payment
$1,271.91 Equal share · automatic, no claim form
Washington Job Posting Settlements Tracker: Every open and closed RCW 49.58.110 settlement OCA tracks, sorted by deadline. See the full list →
Hydromax USA WA Job Postings Settlement: An equal share of up to $382,500 for Washington applicants, open through October 12, 2026. See who qualifies →
Talkdesk WA Job Postings Settlement: An estimated $1,718 equal share from a fund of up to $2,785,000, capped at $5,000. See who qualifies →
Covenant Transport WA Team Driver Settlement: An estimated $920.91 for people who applied for a team driver job in Washington. See who qualifies →