Nordstrom $834K Washington Job Postings Settlement Pays Applicants Automatically, an Estimated $1,154 Each
PublishedNovember 4, 2026
About 445 people who applied to certain Nordstrom job openings in Washington between January 1, 2023 and July 26, 2025, where the posting did not disclose the pay range or benefits, will be paid an equal share of an $834,375 fund automatically from Nordstrom’s records; there is no claim form to file. The deadline to opt out, object or update a payment address is December 2, 2026.
The King County Superior Court preliminarily approved the $834,375 settlement on October 5, 2026, and notices have gone out to class members. There is no claim form: if the court grants final approval at the January 29, 2027 hearing, class members who do not opt out will be paid automatically. December 2, 2026 is the deadline to opt out, object, or update a mailing address or choose a digital payment with the administrator. No payments have been made yet.
Free settlement alerts
Get notified when new class actions open to claims
Join thousands of readers who get the latest class action settlements you may qualify for — delivered straight to your inbox.
StatusPending Final Approvalfinal approval hearing January 29, 2027 · no claim form
Opt-Out / Objection DeadlineDecember 2, 2026also the deadline to update an address or choose a digital payment
Estimated PayoutAbout $1,154estimate in the court-approved notice · equal shares among about 445 class members
Proof RequiredAutomatic Paymentno claim form to file — class members come from Nordstrom’s application records
What Is the Settlement About?
The lawsuit, Jens v. Nordstrom, Inc. et al., No. 24-2-20400-8 SEA, was filed on September 9, 2024 in King County Superior Court against Nordstrom, Inc., Nordstrom International Limited and Nordstrom Restaurants, Inc. It alleged that their job postings for Washington positions did not include the wage scale or salary range, or a general description of benefits, that Washington’s Equal Pay and Opportunities Act (RCW 49.58.110) has required since January 1, 2023. The complaint sought statutory damages for each applicant.
Nordstrom denies the claims, contends it did not violate any law, and says the claims have no merit; the settlement is not an admission of wrongdoing. After the court partly granted Nordstrom’s motion for a protective order in January 2026, the parties exchanged limited discovery and then negotiated the settlement, which Nordstrom signed in July 2026. The court preliminarily approved it on October 5, 2026. OCA tracks the other cases brought under the same law on its Washington job posting settlements page.
Who Qualifies?
The settlement class is everyone who, from January 1, 2023 through July 26, 2025, applied for a job opening in Washington with Nordstrom, Inc., Nordstrom International Limited or Nordstrom Restaurants, Inc. where the posting did not disclose a wage scale or salary range, and/or a general description of benefits and other compensation. Nordstrom estimated there are about 445 class members.
Two limits make this class narrower than the definition first suggests. It covers only the job postings identified in written discovery in the case, and only applicants from within the United States; the agreement says the other postings were either subject to arbitration or published by third parties without Nordstrom’s authority. The class also ends on July 26, 2025, because Washington amended the law effective July 27, 2025 to require that an employer be notified before a violation can be pursued, and the parties are not aware of any notice to Nordstrom for later postings. Class members were identified from Nordstrom’s records and sent a notice by mail and email. Someone who believes they were wrongly left off the list had 30 days from the notice to dispute it, and Nordstrom’s records control unless the person has documents showing otherwise.
How Much Can You Get?
Every class member who does not opt out gets an equal share of the class fund. That is the $834,375 total minus attorneys’ fees of $278,125 (about one-third), up to $5,000 in costs, a $20,000 service award to the plaintiff, and administration costs capped at $20,000, all subject to the court’s approval. The court-approved notice estimates each class member’s payment at $1,154.06. The actual amount can change with the court’s rulings on fees and costs and with the number of opt-outs; shares of anyone who opts out go back into the class fund for everyone else. If more class members turn up than the roughly 445 Nordstrom reported, the agreement increases the fund proportionally.
Payments are mailed as checks to class members with a valid mailing address, or sent by an online payment service such as PayPal or Venmo on request or when no valid address is on file. Payments expire 180 days after they are issued. Uncashed money is sent to Washington’s unclaimed property program in the class member’s name, and any other leftover funds go to the Legal Foundation of Washington.
Is Proof Required?
No. There is no claim form, and nothing has to be submitted to be paid. The Login ID and PIN printed on the notice are used only to log in on the settlement website to update a mailing address or switch to a digital payment. Class members can also return the Address Form that came with the notice. The administrator can resend a Login ID and PIN to class members who request them with their full name and mailing address.
What Are the Deadlines?
December 2, 2026 is the deadline to:
opt out, by a signed letter to the settlement administrator postmarked by that date (opt-outs cannot be made by phone or email, and opting out means no payment);
object, by filing a written objection with the King County Superior Court and mailing copies to class counsel and Nordstrom’s counsel; and
update a mailing address or choose a digital payment.
The full requirements for opt-outs and objections are in the notice and on the official settlement website.
What Happens Next?
Judge Rania Rampersad will hold the final approval hearing on January 29, 2027 at 11:30 a.m. at the Maleng Regional Justice Center in Kent, with remote attendance by Zoom available; the details are posted on the settlement website. Nordstrom can void the settlement if more than 10% of the class opts out. If the court approves the settlement and there is no appeal, the schedule in the agreement calls for the settlement to become effective 31 days after the final approval order, the fund to be paid 30 days after that, and payments to go out 14 days later.
Who Are the Lawyers?
The court appointed lawyers from Emery Reddy, PC as class counsel. Nordstrom is represented by Fox Rothschild LLP. Class counsel’s fees come out of the settlement fund if approved by the court; class members are not charged directly. The settlement administrator is Simpluris.
Sources and Verification
• Official Jens v. Nordstrom settlement website — notice, FAQs, important dates and court documents
• Class Settlement Agreement, Jens v. Nordstrom, Inc. et al., No. 24-2-20400-8 SEA (King Cnty. Super. Ct.)
• Class Action Complaint, Jens v. Nordstrom, Inc. et al. (filed September 9, 2024)
• Court-approved Notice of Class Action Settlement (embedded below)
Questions
Do I need to file a claim in the Nordstrom settlement?
No. There is no claim form. Class members identified from Nordstrom's application records who do not exclude themselves will be paid automatically if the court grants final approval. The administrator needs a current mailing address, or a digital payment selection, to send the payment.
How much will each Nordstrom job applicant get?
Every class member gets an equal share of what is left of the $834,375 fund after court-approved attorneys' fees of $278,125, up to $5,000 in costs, a $20,000 service award and administration costs capped at $20,000. The court-approved notice estimates $1,154.06 per person. The final amount depends on what the court approves and how many people opt out.
Why does the class stop at July 26, 2025?
Washington amended the job posting law effective July 27, 2025 so that an applicant generally must notify the employer before a violation can be pursued. The settlement agreement says the parties are not aware of any such notice being given to Nordstrom for later postings, so the class covers applications from January 1, 2023 through July 26, 2025.
Does the settlement cover every Nordstrom job posting in Washington?
No. The class is limited to the job postings identified in written discovery in the case and to applicants from within the United States. The settlement agreement says other postings were either subject to arbitration or published by third parties without Nordstrom's authority. Class members were identified from Nordstrom's records and sent a notice.
When will Nordstrom settlement payments be made?
Not before final approval. The final approval hearing is January 29, 2027. Under the settlement schedule, the settlement becomes effective 31 days after a final approval order if there is no appeal, Nordstrom funds it 30 days after that, and payments go out 14 days later. Payments expire 180 days after they are issued.
Official Settlement Notice
For more class actions keep scrolling below.
Settlement Amount
$834,375
Case Title
Jens v. Nordstrom, Inc. et al.
Case Number
24-2-20400-8 SEA
Court
King County Superior Court, Washington
Final Approval Hearing
January 29, 2027 at 11:30 AM Judge Rania Rampersad · in person in Kent or by Zoom