Brockton Neighborhood Health Center Data Breach Settlement: Up to $50 or Up to $2,500 Documented
PublishedOctober 13, 2026
People whose information was affected in the November 2024 cyberattack on Brockton Neighborhood Health Center may qualify to claim up to $50 in cash, or up to $2,500 for documented losses and lost time, from the Brockton Neighborhood Health Center data breach class action settlement. Claims close December 8, 2026.
Claims are open. The deadline to file, online or by mail, is December 8, 2026, and the notice
does not specify a timezone. The deadline to object is November 9, 2026. The court has granted
preliminary approval; the final approval hearing is scheduled for January 12, 2027 at 2:00 p.m.
ET in Plymouth County Superior Court in Massachusetts, and the court has not ruled on final
approval. No payment date has been announced. Every benefit, including credit monitoring,
requires a claim.
Free settlement alerts
Get notified when new class actions open to claims
Join thousands of readers who get the latest class action settlements you may qualify for — delivered straight to your inbox.
StatusClaims Open
Claim DeadlineDecember 8, 2026Online or postmarked · no timezone stated in the notice
Estimated PayoutUp to $50 or up to $2,500Alternative Cash Payment, subject to pro rata reduction, or documented losses plus lost time instead · plus 3 years of credit monitoring
Proof RequiredYesClass Member ID from the postcard notice to file online · third-party documentation also required for documented losses
What Changed Recently?
The claim process opened after the court granted preliminary approval to a settlement in
Howard, et al. v. Brockton Neighborhood Health Center, Inc., No. 2483-CV-01076, in
Plymouth County Superior Court in Massachusetts. The parties filed the settlement agreement on
July 17, 2026, and the Kroll-run settlement website now accepts claims.
The case follows a cybersecurity incident on Brockton Neighborhood Health Center’s network and
systems on or around November 1 to November 3, 2024, which may have affected the private
information of current and former patients. The health center began notifying people around
December 2024. The first complaint was filed in Plymouth Superior Court on December 20, 2024;
two related cases were later consolidated into it, and a consolidated complaint followed on
May 8, 2025. Brockton moved to dismiss in June 2025. A full-day mediation in October 2025 did
not produce a deal, and the parties reached terms after several more months of negotiation.
The plaintiffs allege negligence, breach of implied contract, invasion of privacy and unjust
enrichment. Brockton denies the allegations and any wrongdoing, and the settlement is not an
admission of liability. No court has found that the health center did anything unlawful.
Who Qualifies?
The Settlement Class is every individual residing in the United States whose private
information was impacted in the data incident affecting Brockton Neighborhood Health Center in
or around November 2024, including everyone who received notice of the incident. The
settlement agreement puts the class at approximately 97,488 people.
Three groups are excluded: Brockton itself; any judge assigned to the case, along with the
judge’s staff and family; and anyone a court finds guilty of initiating, causing, or aiding the
criminal activity behind the incident, or who pleads no contest to such a charge.
How Much Can You Get?
The settlement offers two cash branches that are alternatives to each other, plus credit
monitoring that can be claimed with either one.
The first branch reimburses documented losses up to $2,500 per class member. It covers
unreimbursed money actually lost or spent because of the incident between November 1, 2024 and
December 8, 2026, such as losses from identity theft or fraud. The loss has to remain
unreimbursed when the claim is filed, and losses already repaid by a bank or any other source
are not payable again. The same branch adds compensation for lost time spent responding to the
incident: up to three hours at $30 an hour, or $90 at most, with no documentation beyond a
sworn statement. Lost time counts toward the same $2,500 limit.
The second branch is the Alternative Cash Payment of up to $50, which needs no documentation.
It is claimed instead of the documented-loss branch, not on top of it.
Separately, every class member who files a valid claim can enroll in three years of
one-bureau credit monitoring with $1 million in identity theft protection insurance. Activation
codes are sent after final approval.
The amounts are not guaranteed. Brockton’s total payment is capped at $825,000, and that cap
covers everything: claims, credit monitoring, notice and administration costs, and any
court-awarded attorneys’ fees, costs and service awards. Class counsel will ask for up to
$322,500 in fees, costs and expenses, plus $2,000 service awards for each of the five class
representatives. If the court grants both in full, at most $492,500 would remain for
administration and every claim combined; that figure is OCA’s arithmetic from the notice, not
an official estimate. Claims are then paid in a fixed order: credit monitoring, documented
losses, lost time, and the Alternative Cash Payment last, with pro rata reductions if valid
claims exceed the money available. The $50 payment is therefore the most exposed to reduction.
What Proof or Notice ID Is Required?
Filing online is gated on an administrator-issued credential. The claim form on the settlement
website opens with a login screen that asks for a Class Member ID, which is printed on the
postcard notice mailed to class members. That makes this a proof-required settlement even for
the $50 option, which asks for no documentation of any loss.
Under the settlement agreement, notice went out by postcard through U.S. mail only, not by
email. A printable claim form is posted on the settlement website for filing by mail, and the
site has a contact page for questions about a claim.
Documented losses carry a second requirement: third-party documentation, such as receipts or
records not prepared by the claimant. The notice says self-prepared documents like handwritten
receipts are not enough on their own, though they can be submitted to add context to other
records. Lost time needs no documentation, only an attestation under penalty of perjury.
Claims made on behalf of a minor or a deceased class member also need papers showing the
filer’s authority to act, such as guardianship papers or a power of attorney.
What Is the Deadline?
Claims are due December 8, 2026. An online claim has to be submitted by that date and a mailed
claim form has to be postmarked by it. The notice does not specify a timezone.
Objections are due November 9, 2026. The notice lists what a written objection must contain,
including proof of class membership, the grounds for the objection and a signature, and says
objections are to be mailed to class counsel and counsel for Brockton, postmarked by that date.
The notice does not describe a way to exclude oneself from the class: its options are to file a
claim, object, or do nothing.
How Do You Take Action?
Claims are filed on the official settlement website,
BNH Data Settlement.com,
which is run by the court-appointed administrator, Kroll Settlement Administration LLC. Filing
online means entering the Class Member ID from the postcard notice, choosing between the
documented-loss branch and the $50 Alternative Cash Payment, uploading records for any
documented losses, and electing credit monitoring. The form also asks how the payment should be
sent; online filers can choose an electronic payment, and mailed forms are paid by check.
A paper claim form can be downloaded from the documents page of the settlement website and
mailed instead, postmarked by the deadline. Class members who move after filing can update
their address through the settlement website, since that is where a check or a request to fix
a deficient claim would be sent.
What Happens Next?
The next milestone is the final approval hearing on January 12, 2027 at 2:00 p.m. ET in
Plymouth County Superior Court. At that hearing the court will consider whether the settlement
is fair, reasonable and adequate, and will rule on class counsel’s request for fees, costs and
service awards. Class members may attend at their own expense but are not required to, and
timely objections are considered.
The notice says the hearing date and time can change, with updates posted on the settlement
website. If the court approves the settlement, payments follow once the approval is final and
any appeals are resolved. After that, the administrator reviews claims, gives claimants 21 days
to cure any deficiency it finds, and issues payments. No payment date has been announced.
Sources and Verification
This page is based on the official long-form notice, the claim portal and the documents posted
on the settlement website for
BNH Data Settlement.com,
and the settlement agreement filed July 17, 2026 in Howard, et al. v. Brockton Neighborhood
Health Center, Inc., No. 2483-CV-01076, Plymouth County Superior Court. The notice is
embedded below. The class size, the case history and the order in which claims are paid come
from the settlement agreement; the benefit amounts, deadlines and hearing date come from the
notice and the settlement website. One answer in the long-form notice gives the hearing year as
2026; the notice’s hearing section and the settlement website both give January 12, 2027.
For a comparable medical-provider case, see OCA’s page on the
Summit Medical Group data breach settlement,
which also pays documented losses of up to $2,500 alongside a payment for lost time.
Questions
Can the $50 payment and the documented-loss payment both be claimed?
The two cash options are alternatives. A class member claims either reimbursement for
documented losses and lost time, up to $2,500 combined, or the Alternative Cash Payment of
up to $50 instead. Three years of credit monitoring can be claimed on the same form
alongside either cash option.
Why could the $50 payment end up smaller?
Everything in the settlement comes out of a single $825,000 cap, including administration
costs and up to $332,500 in requested attorneys’ fees, costs and service awards. What remains
pays claims in a fixed order: credit monitoring first, then documented losses, then lost
time, then the Alternative Cash Payment. Because the $50 payment is paid last, it is the
first benefit to shrink if valid claims exceed what is left, and the settlement provides for
pro rata reductions.
Where is the Class Member ID?
The Class Member ID is printed on the postcard notice. The settlement agreement provides
for notice by postcard through U.S. mail only, not by email, so the ID is not in anyone’s
inbox. The online claim form will not open without it. The settlement website has a contact
page for questions about a missing ID, and a printable claim form is posted there for filing
by mail.
Can lost time be claimed without any documented losses?
The official notice describes documented losses and/or lost time, which reads as allowing
either one. The claim form attached to the settlement agreement presents lost time as an
addition to a documented-loss claim. Either way, lost time is part of the documented-loss
branch, so it cannot be combined with the $50 Alternative Cash Payment.
Is there a way to opt out of this settlement?
The official notice lists three options: submit a claim, object, or do nothing. It does
not describe a way to exclude oneself from the class. Class members who do nothing receive
no benefits and give up the right to sue Brockton over the claims the settlement resolves if
the court approves it.
When will payments go out?
No payment date has been announced. Under the settlement, payments are made only after the
court grants final approval and any appeals are resolved. The final approval hearing is
scheduled for January 12, 2027, and the court has not ruled. Payments are made by check or
electronically, and checks expire if not cashed within 90 days.
Official Settlement Notice
For more class actions keep scrolling below.
Settlement Amount
Up to $825,000 Claims-made cap covering claims, administration, fees and service awards
Case Title
Howard, et al. v. Brockton Neighborhood Health Center, Inc.
Case Number
2483-CV-01076
Court
Plymouth County Superior Court, Massachusetts
Final Approval Hearing
January 12, 2027 at 2:00 PM ET Plymouth County Superior Court, Plymouth, Massachusetts · date and time subject to change
Summit Medical Group: Documented losses up to $2,500 plus a lost-time payment, with two years of medical data monitoring. See who qualifies →
Wayne Memorial Hospital: An estimated $25 with no documentation, or up to $5,000 documented, at a Georgia hospital. See who qualifies →
Jefferson County Health Center: A Missouri health center breach paying an estimated $150 with no documentation, or up to $300 documented. See who qualifies →
Roseland Community Hospital: Documented losses up to $5,000 plus an estimated $50 pro rata payment, which can be claimed together. See who qualifies →
Innovative Renal Care: An estimated $100 and up to $5,000 documented from a $900,000 fund, for people notified by the dialysis provider. See who qualifies →